Industrial and Management Systems Engineering

Undergraduate Program

Industrial engineers work to find the most efficient processes for production and services. They analyze how humans, natural resources, machines, equipment, information, and energy interact with each other in daily operations. Industrial engineers use both observation and data to optimize productivity and quality and need a wide range of knowledge and skills to be able to work with both people and systems.

These skills can be seen in the experience of our recent graduates, who have found an array of opportunities in the marketplace. Though industrial engineers have historically been employed in manufacturing, recent graduates have seen an increased demand in the service sector as well.

Programs + Advising

Programs

Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering

Industrial engineering is concerned with the design, improvement, and installation of integrated systems of people, material, information, equipment and energy.

  • Decision Sciences
    How to use mathematical tools, computer models and information technology to provide managers with the decision tools and strategies they need to improve business operations.
  • Ergonomics and System Safety
    How to design and arrange the workplace and management strategies to maximize the employees' productivity and safety.
  • Manufacturing Systems Engineering
    How to improve manufacturing processes with the use of robotics, computer-controlled material handling systems, and other automation devices in manufacturing service enterprises.

back to top


Curriculum

Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering

back to top


Advisors

Rashpal Ahluwalia
353E MRB
304.293.9430
rashpal.ahluwalia@mail.wvu.edu

Jack Byrd Jr.
Honors, Co-op, Athletes, 341A MRB
304.293.9957
jack.byrd@mail.wvu.edu

Robert Creese
359D MRB
304.293.9431
robert.creese@mail.wvu.edu

Bhaskaran Gopalakrishnan
325D MRB
304.293.9434
bgopalak@mail.wvu.edu

Steve Guffey
IH Program Coordinator, 353C MRB
304.293.9435
steve.guffey@mail.wvu.edu

Wafik Iskander
IE MS and Ph.D. Program Coordinator,321A MRB
304.293.9436
wafik.iskander@mail.wvu.edu

Majid Jaridi
Probation, 303 MRB
304.293.9437
majid.jaraiedi@mail.wvu.edu

Michael Klishis
SAFM Program Coordinator, 333C MRB
304.293.9438
michael.klishis@mail.wvu.edu

Alan McKendall
325A MRB
304.293.9472
alan.mckendall@mail.wvu.edu

Ashish Nimbarte
309D MRB
304.293.9473
ashish.nimbarte@mail.wvu.edu

Xiaopeng Ning
333D MRB
304.293.94748
xiaopeng.ning@mail.wvu.edu

Gary Winn
OS&H PhD Program Coordinator, 333C MRB
304.293.9476
gary.winn@mail.wvu.edu

Feng Yang
353D MRB
304.293.9477
feng.yang@mail.wvu.edu

Advising Handbook

back to top


Click here for admission requirements

Scholarships

Statler College scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarship Office

Fowler Student Loan Application

back to top